Diamond Head Crater Hike: Trail, Fees, Reservations and Timing
The Diamond Head crater hike is a short climb to the rim of an extinct tuff cone at the edge of Waikiki, and it is the most visited walk on Oahu. The trail itself takes 60 to 90 minutes, entry costs $5 per person on foot or $10 per vehicle with parking, and every non-resident needs a reservation booked through the official state system up to 30 days ahead. This page covers the trail, the fees, the reservation rules and the timing, all from the state reservation system. If you want the guided sunrise shuttle instead, the Diamond Head sunrise tour page covers it in full. And if you came looking for lava, the honest answer is that Diamond Head has none, because Oahu has no active volcano, and it sits alongside the Oahu volcano tour catalogue.
Quick answer Trail, fees and reservation at a glance
The Diamond Head crater hike costs $5 per person on foot or $10 per vehicle with parking, takes 60 to 90 minutes, and needs a reservation for every non-resident. The park opens 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. daily, with the last slot at 4:00 p.m. It is an extinct tuff cone, so there is no lava anywhere on it.
Key takeaways
- Reserve on the state system up to 30 days ahead and arrive within the first 30 minutes of your slot.
- The fastest way up at sunrise is the guided shuttle listing, which handles the reservation and entry fee for you.
- Oahu has no active volcano, so for real lava you need a Big Island day trip.
- Prefer a harder climb on a crater? The Koko Head stairs guide covers the 1,048 steps.
What You Are Walking On
Diamond Head is Leahi, an extinct tuff cone covering over 475 acres at the edge of Honolulu. It is volcanic ground, but it stopped forming long ago.
An Extinct Crater, Not an Active One
Diamond Head belongs to the Honolulu Volcanics, the last phase of activity that built Oahu, and the island as a whole rests on two extinct shields, Waianae and Koolau. There is no active volcano on Oahu today. No vent glows, no lava flows, and no tour from Waikiki can show you live lava without putting you on a plane. Kilauea on the Big Island has been erupting episodically since 23 December 2024, with 54 fountaining episodes so far, each lasting under 12 hours and separated by pauses of two or more weeks. That is a flight away, about 215 miles from Honolulu and roughly one hour in the air each way.
So set expectations before you climb. The reward at the top of this crater is the view: the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, and the bowl of the crater itself. If standing on volcanic rock with a guide and no crowds appeals to you, the volcanic rainforest hike on the Koolau slopes is a cheaper half-day option at $90.
The Trail in Short
The summit trail runs 0.8 miles up a paved and stepped route to the crater rim. Most people take 60 to 90 minutes for the round trip. The surface is a mix of paved path, steps and a switchbacking climb, and the final section passes through a tunnel and a staircase to a viewpoint on the rim.
It is a self-guided walk on the state route, and no guide meets you on the trail even if you arrive on the shuttle. The monument covers over 475 acres, but visitors only see the trail corridor and the summit platform. The state closes and secures the park after 6 p.m. through the Department of Defense, so there is no evening access on your own.
Fees, Reservations and Who Pays What
The state runs the monument, sets the fees and controls entry through its own reservation system. Here is exactly what each visitor pays and what the rules are.
The Full Fee Table
Every figure below comes from the official state reservation system, checked against the published rates and rules. The two headline numbers are the $5 walking entry and the $10 combined parking and entry for a vehicle. Children three and under do not pay.
Hawaii residents with a state ID enter free and skip the reservation, but their out-of-state guests still need one. The comparison section lower down shows what the same visit costs through a tour operator.
Table: Entry Fees and Rules
The table lists each category of visitor, what they pay and whether a reservation is required, using only the state reservation system figures. Use it to find your own line before you book anything.
| Who you are | Cost | Reservation needed | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Non-resident on foot | $5 per person | Yes | Book up to 30 days ahead |
| Non-resident with a vehicle | $10 per vehicle, entry and parking | Yes | Covers the car and its occupants |
| Hawaii resident with state ID | Free | No | Out-of-state guests still need one |
| Children 3 and under | Free | Follows the adults | No fee for the child |
How the Reservation Works
Non-residents must reserve ahead, and the state system opens bookings up to 30 days in advance. Arrive within the first 30 minutes of your slot or you can be turned away with no refund, so treat the time as firm. The last reservation slot of the day is 4:00 p.m., and you must be on the trail by 4:30 p.m.
The monument closes on Christmas Day and New Year's Day, and otherwise runs 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. daily. If your first-choice slot is gone, book early in your window. The 30-day lead time matters most for sunrise slots, which are the ones the shuttle operators target.
Timing Your Visit
Hours are fixed by the state and the reservation slot you pick decides your whole experience. Here is how to plan the clock.
Opening Hours and Cut-Offs
The park runs 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. every day except Christmas Day and New Year's Day. The last reservation slot is 4:00 p.m. and you must be walking by 4:30 p.m. After 6 p.m. the Department of Defense secures the site, so there is no self-guided sunset or night visit.
The walk itself takes 60 to 90 minutes, which means a 4:00 p.m. slot finishes with time to spare but little room to linger. Sunrise slots are the coldest and busiest, because everyone wants the first light over the rim, and shuttle operators build their schedules around them.
Choosing a Slot
Three patterns work, and the trade is always the same one: heat against crowds. The slot times below are the state's own, and the rule underneath them applies to all three.
Whatever you pick, arrive within 30 minutes of the slot start or you can be refused entry with no refund. If you would rather not manage a 5:00 a.m. alarm and a parking search, the shuttle tour does the pickup at 5:00 to 5:10 a.m. from seven Waikiki points and has you back at your hotel by about 8:00 a.m.
| Slot | What you get | What you give up |
|---|---|---|
| Earliest, from 6:00 a.m. | Cool air and the sunrise photographs | The busiest summit platform of the day |
| Mid-morning | A relaxed pace and a quieter trail than sunrise | Full sun on an exposed climb |
| 4:00 p.m., the last slot | The thinnest crowds on the trail | A warm climb and a hard closing time |
Doing It Yourself Versus the Shuttle
The honest comparison: the state price for the same summit is $5 to $10, and the cheapest guided shuttle is $64. Here is what the gap buys.
What Each Route Actually Costs
The cheapest possible Diamond Head crater hike costs $5 per person if you walk in, or $10 per vehicle if you drive and park, plus your own transport to the crater and your own reservation on the state site. The guided sunrise shuttle from Blue Wave Tour costs $64, lasts 3 hours and includes the 5:00 a.m. Waikiki pickup, the state reservation and the entry fee, with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead. It carries a 4.3 rating from 491 reviews. Its weakest review score is value for money at 3.9 out of 5, and the reason is obvious from the numbers: the same entry costs $5 on the state site. What the extra money buys is the pre-dawn ride, the solved reservation and the parking, not a guide on the trail, because there is no guide above the drop-off.
If you are weighing this against a real volcano day, the same $64 is also the entry point to this site's whole cost breakdown for Oahu volcano tours, and the Big Island day trips start at $576. For free volcanic ground on Oahu, Koko Head District Park charges nothing and the Koko Head stairs climb 1,048 steps up a crater of the same age and type. Budget options across the island are collected in the budget volcano guide.
| Route | Price | Duration | What is included | Cancellation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Self-guided on foot | $5 per person | 60 to 90 minutes | Entry only, you book the reservation | not stated |
| Self-guided with a car | $10 per vehicle | 60 to 90 minutes | Entry and parking, you book the reservation | not stated |
| Guided sunrise shuttle | $64 | 3 hours | Waikiki pickup, reservation and entry fee | Free up to 24h |
Verdict
If you have a car, a reserved slot and a willingness to set an alarm, do it yourself for $10 and spend the difference on lunch. If you are staying in Waikiki without a car and want sunrise without managing a 30-day booking window yourself, the $64 shuttle is the simpler path and the full sunrise tour page has the details. Data currency for the prices and hours on this page:.
Where Diamond Head Fits Among Oahu's Craters
Diamond Head is one of four tuff cones around Honolulu that visitors walk, swim or picnic on. Knowing the set helps you pick the right one.
The Other Craters
Oahu's late Honolulu Volcanics left a line of tuff cones, and four of them matter to visitors. Diamond Head is the classic rim walk. Koko Crater holds the 1,048-step tramway climb, free to enter, with WWII pillboxes at the top and views to Hanauma Bay, Diamond Head and on clear days Molokai.
Hanauma Bay is the flooded one, a snorkelling preserve and Hawaii's first Marine Life Conservation District, designated in 1967, where non-residents reserve through the PROS system two days ahead at 7 a.m. Hawaii time and watch an education video on every visit. Punchbowl holds the National Memorial Cemetery.
All four are extinct. For the full geological story see the volcanic history of Oahu and the explanation of types of Hawaii volcanoes.
If You Need Lava
No walk on Oahu gives you lava, and that includes this one. Kilauea on the Big Island is the active volcano, on a WATCH alert with an ORANGE aviation colour, and even there the eruption sits inside a closed area, with the Halemaumau crater rim closed to the public since late 2007. The day trips from Oahu fly to Hilo or Kona, take about one hour in the air each way and run 12 to 16 hours door to door.
The hotel pickup day tour at $585 is the simplest of them, and the one-day trip planning guide covers the timing in detail. For what is actually erupting right now, start with what an erupting episode looks like.
Diamond Head Crater Hike Dos and Don'ts
A short list built from the state rules, so you do not lose your slot or your money.
Do
- Do book on the state reservation system up to 30 days ahead, because non-residents cannot enter without a reservation.
- Do arrive within the first 30 minutes of your slot, because after that you can be turned away with no refund.
- Do allow 60 to 90 minutes for the round trip and enter before the 4:30 p.m. trail cut-off.
- Do walk in for $5 per person if you are staying nearby, because that is the cheapest legal entry.
Don't
- Don't turn up without a reservation expecting to pay at the gate, because non-residents must book ahead through the state system.
- Don't plan a sunset or night visit, because the park closes at 6:00 p.m. and the Department of Defense secures it after that.
- Don't visit on Christmas Day or New Year's Day, because the monument is closed both days.
- Don't pay $64 for a shuttle if you have a car and a reserved slot, because the same entry costs $10 per vehicle.
Diamond Head Crater Hike FAQ
How much does the Diamond Head crater hike cost?
Entry is $5 per person on foot, or $10 per vehicle including parking. Children three and under do not pay, and Hawaii residents with a state ID enter free. The cost guide for Oahu volcano tours puts this in context.
Do I need a reservation to hike Diamond Head?
Every non-resident needs one, booked up to 30 days ahead on the state system, and you must arrive within the first 30 minutes of your slot. Hawaii residents with ID skip it. The sunrise shuttle listing includes the reservation in the $64 price.
How long does the Diamond Head hike take?
The 0.8 mile summit trail typically takes 60 to 90 minutes round trip. The park runs 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. with the last slot at 4:00 p.m. For a longer crater climb, see the Koko Head stairs.
Is there lava in Diamond Head crater?
No. Diamond Head is an extinct tuff cone and Oahu has no active volcano. The lava is on the Big Island at Kilauea, about one hour flying time from Honolulu, and active volcanoes near Oahu explains the difference.
What are the Diamond Head opening hours?
6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. daily, closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day, with the last reservation slot at 4:00 p.m. and the trail cut-off at 4:30 p.m. Seasonal timing across the islands is covered in the best time to visit.
Is the guided shuttle worth it over doing it myself?
It depends on your car and your alarm. The shuttle costs $64 with a 5:00 a.m. Waikiki pickup and handles the reservation, while doing it yourself costs $5 to $10. The Diamond Head sunrise tour page reviews the shuttle in full.
Can I see a real volcano in one day from Waikiki?
Yes, on a long day. Day trips fly to Hilo or Kona, about one hour each way, and run 12 to 16 hours door to door starting around $576. The Waikiki volcano tour overview compares every option.